St James’ Anglican Church

19 Tank Street, Morpeth, NSW, 2321

Experience Details

The Anglican Parish of St James at Morpeth is one of the oldest in Australia, consecrated on December 31, 1840, with St. James as its Patron, by William Broughton, the first Bishop of Australia. In the early 1860s, the architect Edmund Blacket added the sanctuary and sacristy, the chancel arch and the carved stone pulpit. In 1874 the church suffered major damage from a fire in the roof and another architect, Mr John Horbury Hunt, oversaw the repairs. Hunt included the walls of the Nave in the repairs removed the original internal brick lining to these walls, and built the new ‘hammer beam’ style of roof, which resembles the hull of a timber ship. This is the roof framing that is still visible today. The church warmly welcomes visitors and is generally open for private prayer worship from 9am until 4pm daily.
Getting There
Share with Friends
19 Tank Street, Morpeth, NSW, 2321


Carpark - Enquiry Desk - Family Friendly - Non Smoking - Public Toilet