Dobell Festival: The Artist and His Dogs

Saturday 8 June 2024
 to Sunday 4 August 2024
First Street,
Booragul,
2284

Event Details

At a young age, and while studying drawing at night, William Dobell found his first job as a ‘dog-walloper’. His duties in this job were to keep dogs from ruining shop display windows, by chasing them away. As an artist who left school at the age of 14 to forge his own path, this interaction with man’s best friend grew as did his practice. In this intimate set of photographs loaned from the AGNSW Archive Collection, we see a snippet of Dobell in his homelife, the artist with his dogs in Lake Macquarie.

Upcoming Dates

Friday, 14 June, 2024
Saturday, 15 June, 2024
Sunday, 16 June, 2024
Monday, 17 June, 2024
Tuesday, 18 June, 2024
Wednesday, 19 June, 2024
Thursday, 20 June, 2024
Friday, 21 June, 2024
Saturday, 22 June, 2024
Sunday, 23 June, 2024
Monday, 24 June, 2024
Tuesday, 25 June, 2024
Wednesday, 26 June, 2024
Thursday, 27 June, 2024
Friday, 28 June, 2024
Saturday, 29 June, 2024
Sunday, 30 June, 2024
Monday, 1 July, 2024
Tuesday, 2 July, 2024
Wednesday, 3 July, 2024
Thursday, 4 July, 2024
Friday, 5 July, 2024
Saturday, 6 July, 2024
Sunday, 7 July, 2024
Monday, 8 July, 2024
Tuesday, 9 July, 2024
Wednesday, 10 July, 2024
Thursday, 11 July, 2024
Friday, 12 July, 2024
Saturday, 13 July, 2024
Sunday, 14 July, 2024
Monday, 15 July, 2024
Tuesday, 16 July, 2024
Wednesday, 17 July, 2024
Thursday, 18 July, 2024
Friday, 19 July, 2024
Saturday, 20 July, 2024
Sunday, 21 July, 2024
Monday, 22 July, 2024
Tuesday, 23 July, 2024
Wednesday, 24 July, 2024
Thursday, 25 July, 2024
Friday, 26 July, 2024
Saturday, 27 July, 2024
Sunday, 28 July, 2024
Monday, 29 July, 2024
Tuesday, 30 July, 2024
Wednesday, 31 July, 2024
Thursday, 1 August, 2024
Friday, 2 August, 2024
Saturday, 3 August, 2024
Sunday, 4 August, 2024
Getting There
Share with Friends
Dobell Festival: The Artist and His Dogs
Saturday 8 June 2024
 to Sunday 4 August 2024
First Street,
Booragul,
2284

Features