You need not fear the monsters of the sea

Friday 28 June 2024
 to Sunday 1 September 2024
96 Creek Reserve Road,
Speers Point,
2284

Event Details

The Multi-Arts Pavilion, mima’s winter commission presents Perth-based artist Elham Eshraghian-Haakansson. You need not fear the monsters of the sea is an immersive fairytale reflecting on the artist's own experience of closeness and distance. Through Persian miniature painting, mythology, magical realism, and innate spirituality, she explores the gaze of intimacy and rage. Immersed in the echoes of the artist's childhood home; suburbia; the gentle sway of a crystal chandelier remembered at the centre of her house; Australian shorelines and wind. Home is also folklore, fairy tales, and myth. The artist explores this magical terrain through surreal, generative imagery, inspired by the mythic Persian epic The Tale of Sorab, (from Shahnahmeh, the Book of Kings by Ferdowsi), an enchanting tragedy equivalent to that of Odyssey or Shakespeare, where within the tale, father and son - unknowingly - fight to the death. You need not fear the monsters of the sea is supported by the NSW Government through Create NSW.

Upcoming Dates

Friday, 28 June, 2024
Saturday, 29 June, 2024
Sunday, 30 June, 2024
Friday, 5 July, 2024
Saturday, 6 July, 2024
Sunday, 7 July, 2024
Friday, 12 July, 2024
Saturday, 13 July, 2024
Sunday, 14 July, 2024
Friday, 19 July, 2024
Saturday, 20 July, 2024
Sunday, 21 July, 2024
Friday, 26 July, 2024
Saturday, 27 July, 2024
Sunday, 28 July, 2024
Friday, 2 August, 2024
Saturday, 3 August, 2024
Sunday, 4 August, 2024
Friday, 9 August, 2024
Saturday, 10 August, 2024
Sunday, 11 August, 2024
Friday, 16 August, 2024
Saturday, 17 August, 2024
Sunday, 18 August, 2024
Friday, 23 August, 2024
Saturday, 24 August, 2024
Sunday, 25 August, 2024
Friday, 30 August, 2024
Saturday, 31 August, 2024
Sunday, 1 September, 2024
Getting There
Share with Friends
You need not fear the monsters of the sea
Friday 28 June 2024
 to Sunday 1 September 2024
96 Creek Reserve Road,
Speers Point,
2284

Features

Art & Culture - Cafe - Carpark - Family Friendly - Non Smoking - Pet Friendly - Enquire - Public Toilet